close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help me pick a reloading setup...

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by eingeist, Feb 9, 2010.

1. eingeist

eingeist

I want to get into reloading but I don't know what to buy..

I bought The ABC's of Reloading, and hope to learn a bit from that..

I've been looking at this:

https://kempfgunshop.com//index.php...facturer_id=0&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=41

I will only be loading pistol ammo. I'd like to do 250 or 300 rounds an hour. I don't know the difference between the one I posted, and the $500 Dillon setup, etc..

So maybe someone can help me get set up at a reasonable cost?
    Do I set a unit to drop powder in? Or do I measure it with a spoon every time? I guess I'm a newbie at this stuff.. Anything will help..

Thanks!

2. fredj338

fredj338

Read ABCs & hopefully it willl make sense. Why 300rds/hr? How much ammo do you need per month? Most reloaders buy more press than they actually need. Speed always cost more money, so only a progressive will get you 250rds+/hr, but do you really need that much production.
    If you shoot 100rds a week, 400rds a month, you can load that on a single stage in 1.5hrs/wk. The Lee turret will double that, any of the progressives will at least double that rate again, but your cost will go up considerably. For progressive, I would only consider a Hornady LNL or the Dillon 550B, or 650.

3. RustySocket

RustySocket

If you are new to reloading the worst thing you can do is get too much too fast. Start with a simple single stage press (rockchucker or similar). Learn the basics and develop a load.

Leave the progressives until later .... as you will always have a use for a single stage press.

Reloading is not about how fast or how cheap you can produce ammo. It is about quality, accuracy, and the pleasure of making your own cartridge.

Get a good manual and read. Maybe a local gun club or someone here local to help you get started.