Help me buy a tent please.

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by eagles405, Oct 28, 2004.

1. eagles405

eagles405

Hey everybody,
    What I am looking for is somethink large enough for two people for comfortable weekend camping but lite enough for good long hiking trips. I am willing to spend about 350 to 400 max. I am a college student who goes camping about every other month with my boy scout troop and am getting tired of leeky tents. I have been looking at this tent form at rei outlet and have read very good revues on it. http://www.rei.com/outlet/product/47834357.htm? What do you all think about it? Do you all have any other tents that ya'll have been very impressed with? Thanks alot.
    Eagles 405

P.S. First real post on glocktalk although I have been following it for a while.

2. mpol777

mpol777 Feral Member

Dana is a good brand. I think that model is a bit heavy though for hiking. 4lbs will feel a lot better on a long hike. If you can shave a few pounds or ounces off each piece of gear it really adds up.

I would also look at the clip designed tents as opposed to the sleeve design. Here's another Dana with the clip design:

[​IMG]

Setting up either is easy when the weather is nice, but when it's dark, cold, raining and the wind is blowing the clip style is much easier to get up fast.

You really can't go wrong shopping at REI since they only carry major manufacturers. Marmot, Sierra Designs, North Face, Bibler, etc. All good stuff.

3. Short Cut

Short Cut PatrioticMember CLM

Welcome to Glock Talk!

My favorite tent is a Bibler, but you'd have to be camping a lot to justify its price tag imho.

A brand that I think makes some very well made tents that will hold up well without costing a fortune is Eureka!

You really have to take the size rating with a grain of salt. If you will have two people in the tent most often, I'd suggest getting a 3 or 4 man tent. That way the tent will have room for you and your gear.

clic pic

[​IMG]