close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help find MAC Address'

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by pascal, Nov 4, 2006.

  1. pascal

    pascal

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy,
    I have completely forgotten how to find the MAC address' for my computers ME\2K\XP!! Can anyone advise me how to locate that info on my boxes. Thanks for the help, help me, help me!
    pascal
     
  2. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    From a command prompt:
    ipconfig/all
     

  3. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim Señor Member CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    ...or "getmac". If you have 2 NICs (or more), however, you might not be able to distinguish between their MACs.
     
  4. pascal

    pascal

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I use ipconfig on the individual machines, will that work. Or maybe just turn them on do the ipconfig/all then turn on the next and redo?? I want to set up network filter on my wireless router for the three machines, all hardwired at the moment. Does it really matter that much if they are the only machines on my network and wireless is turned OFF? Thanks for the ideas so far!!
    pascal
     
  5. doktarZues

    doktarZues I'm anti-anti

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brevard County, FL
    ipconfig /all will show you the MAC for any number of network adaptors on that machine. It still requires some common sense but the ipconfig /all should help you determine which is which a bit easier than getmac if you have more than 1 nic or vpn connection. -dok
     
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    The /all is a switch, an additional command for ipconfig ... it will only read the machine on which it is executed. To see all of the switches available for commands run at the prompt that you run add /?
    To see a list of available commands run "help".
     
  7. pascal

    pascal

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a place to start looking, Thanx Sarge
    pascal
     
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    I don't know what router you are using but in your situation I would enable WPA2, change the default SSID, disable SSID broadcast, enable Wireless MAC Filtering and then select the Permit Only option and then don’t list any MAC addresses. Also be sure that you change the default password.
     
  9. pascal

    pascal

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    At this moment I have the wireless disabled. I am running two of the three computers hardwired to the router, the third will be hooked up at a later date. Thanks for the head up on protection on the wireless side. The router took a dump and I had to reset all the settings and recreate what had worked before. I had Network Filtering set to allow the Mac Address' of the machines on my network. Don't recall how, am having difficulty recreating the correct settings. I know you input the address' that you want and choose to allow ONLY them.
    pascal
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    MAC filtering is a wireless option, that’s why I suggested that you enable Wireless MAC filtering and NOT enter any addresses. You can assign Static IP addresses to your computers and then restrict access to the router to them or a range of IP addresses ... depending on your router. That's overkill ... if you follow my previous post you will be fine. Also some routers allow you to save your configuration settings to a file so you can restore them if necessary.
     
  11. pascal

    pascal

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somehow I believe that you have switched to talking Greek. Sorry but you are getting beyond my current comprehension level. I thought that disabling the wireless would block all wireless communication with the router and my net. Thanx
    pascal
     
  12. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Do'h ... I thought we were referring to "turning off the SSID", yes if you have selected "Disabled" in the Wireless Network Mode then all wireless communication with the router is disabled.
     
  13. pascal

    pascal

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses and info, it's been a big help. I had previously set the filter for my three computer's macs'. This now doesn't seem necessary as they are the only three computers available on the net(is this a correct assumption?). Will have to worry if/when I get the wireless working. Couldn't previously get WPA2 to work properly with the linux box. Didn't want to run anything less. Using a DLink WBR-1310.
    pascal