Help, computer restart problem!!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by BOZ, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. BOZ

    BOZ

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Location:
    Idaho
    Hi gang, I am having a problem with my computer restarting by itself.
    It just started this yesterday, and no changes have been made.
    I have had the system just under a year (built it myself).

    I have an AMD 2800 system running Windows 98 with all the latest updates installed.

    When I am on the Internet my system will just randomly restart.
    No specific timeframe (but usually no more than an hour between restarts and most happen 15-30 minutes apart) and not performing any specific task, just on the Internet.

    I can work on the computer for hours with no problems as long as I don't access the web so I don't think it is a power supply problem.

    I have the latest bios for my motherboard.
    My board has built in Ethernet that I use with a cable modem, no router.

    I have completely uninstalled my firewall to see if that was the problem but it still does it.

    Anyone have any ideas what the problem may be?
     
  2. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    There are a few viruses that are known to cause random reboots ...
     

  3. BOZ

    BOZ

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Location:
    Idaho
    Oh yea, I forgot to mention that.

    I have run my anti-virus program twice since this started,
    and it is updated with the latest definitions.
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    IF you have also tested your PC with an online scanner such as Trend Housecall, then you have already done a good job of narrowing the issue down.

    Two important things remain...have you tried using a
    [​IMG]

    How about some
    [​IMG]

    If you have done both, try a better PSU and the UPS shown above (Energizer 650VA)!

    GL
     
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    That does not guarantee that you are virus free; use one of the on-line scanners. I once worked on a computer that did not have a virus ... according to Norton. The only problem that the computer had was that it could not access Norton’s update site ... a virus on the system would not allow it.
     
  6. jack19512

    jack19512

    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    If there have been no changes made to your computer and this only happens when you get on the Internet then it seems to point to a virus.
     
  7. BOZ

    BOZ

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ok,

    As soon as I started having the problem,
    I did open the computer and blow everything
    out. I also disconnected and reconnected all
    cable/connectors.

    I tried the online virus check mentioned by fastvfr
    and it found nothing.

    Again, I don't think it can be power related as I
    spent 4 hours working on the computer transferring
    files and other things with no problems, and then 20 minutes
    after I started surfing the web, the computer restarted.

    I'm at a loss. Is there another online site that will run
    a test on my system?
     
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    The chances of a Win9x virus restarting your OS w/o showing BSOD are slim.

    Did you try using a better PSU to run that system?

    Have you installed an uninterruptible power supply yet?

    Glad to hear you keep up with the dusting and such...but, honestly, this still sounds like a HW issue to me.

    Anyway, keep trying new things and you'll get it narrowed down before long.
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz Annoying Member

    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    If you’re sure that it’s not a virus then I’d check the video drivers. If the drivers are corrupted or if they are the wrong version for your card ... that can cause random reboots.

    Since your system is clean it sounds like it’s not an over heating problem. I doubt that it has anything to do with the power supply and while a UPS is a good idea it wouldn’t help in this case, launching a web browser will not draw any more power.
     
  11. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty

    Messages:
    18,802
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    >^..^<
    Overheating CPU?
     
  12. calestus

    calestus

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
    What browser are you using? (I will assume IE) Switch to an alternate browser....if the problem goes away then re-install IE. If that doesn't fix it uninstall - reinstall the NIC drivers... Don't use the ones that came on the CD with the motherboard go to the manufacturers website and get new ones if its Nforce based get the latest drivers from nvidia. Make sure you download the new drivers BEFORE you uninstall the network cards drivers....heh. This is only after you have ruled out there is no virus...I ran into a computer that would do this because the owner uninstalled some spyware and it had left behind some nasties that internet explorer didnt like and it would BSOD. I'd recommend spybot/a-squared/NOD32 as a small defense against virus/spyware. All are free except NOD which has a 30 day trial. If you like it reward the company and buy it. I avoid Norton software like the plauge. If you are still reading this and have ruled out all that stuff then I'd go with the start troubleshooting hardware approach. You should have a UPS allready so I won't go into that.
     
  13. BOZ

    BOZ

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ok, an update on this.

    Keep in mind this is the family computer so I don't always get all the info at once.

    It seems, sometimes, instead of restarting, the computer has popped up the bluescreen with ....

    Fatal exception 0E at 0028:C17AC5DC.

    I just got this while testing after reinstalling the ethernet drivers.

    When I asked, I was told yes it had started doing this the same time the the restart problem happened.

    I searched the Microsoft support page but can't find anything matching this particular error.

    Any idea what may be causing this, and do you think it is related to the restart issue?
     
  14. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Since you can get a PCI Ethernet card for around $15, and since that is an onboard solution, why not just buy or borrow a PCI NIC for testing?

    Could be that the onboard is going south, or perhaps the chipset driver itself has become corrupted.

    Your board uses a VIA chipset, correct? If so, you could download a newer version of the Hyperion 4-in-1 drivers for VIA chipsets to see if that fixes the problem.

    You're getting closer...
     
  15. BOZ

    BOZ

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Location:
    Idaho
    I did see the general Fatal Error 0E at 0028 page, but none of the items in it seemed to pertain to me.

    I do not have Norton or McAfee installed on this machine
    which is what anything close on that site said was a cause.

    It looks like my next step is going to be to try adding an ethernet card and see if this still occurs.
     
  16. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Some onboard ethernet connectors break loose/crack the solder joints to the board.You might want to try a pci ethernet card.Dell had this problem with their early onboard ethernet connectors and went back to pci ethernet cards for a while.
     
  17. BOZ

    BOZ

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Location:
    Idaho
    I just wanted to say thanks for everyones input on this.

    I never did narrow down what the cause was but...

    Format C: sure appeares to have cleared it up ;)


    No problems so far today since I finished everything
    involved with the re-install yesterday.
     
  18. younggenious

    younggenious

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Location:
    Southern TX
    Yea, if not a virus, then almost for sure either: most likely a driver problem, or a low quality PSU (which is why I got a PC Power and Cooling PSU :cool: )