close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Has anyone worked at Wal-Mart?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by bob_fuller, Apr 2, 2012.

1. bob_fuller

bob_fuller

I know Okie does, and a few others around here maybe. Long story short, I'm probably taking the next semester or year off of college to save up some cash and avoid mountains of student loan debt. Walmart is hiring, and I'm thinking of applying. Just wondering what it's like!

If anyone has comments, advice, or rude remarks, I'd love to hear them. Suggestions for "better" jobs are always welcome too.

Thanks! :wavey:

- Matt

2. wjv

wjv Zip It Stan Lee.. . .

If you can get in at a Costco, the pay is much better. (~40% better)

3. Restless28

Restless28

I worked part time for 5 years. I worked in the photo dept and assembled bikes, grills, displays, etc. I liked it a lot.

4. Bruce M

Bruce M

I have no personal knowledge of working there. And I have no rude comment either. As big as they are and as many people as they have working for them, they can't be all bad. My limited experience suggests it is often easier to get a job when you already have a job. As I get older, I also believe there are no menial jobs only menial people; any job well done is a good job. Finally, if you elect to work there best of luck to you, and I would suggest if you end up there that you might want to inquire about what if anything they can do for students. I know there are a few big corporations that range from allowing flexible hours all the way through tuition reimbursement for college students.

5. grmnracing

grmnracing

I worked at Walmart doing loss prevention. That was a great job. It was considered management level. Guaranteed 40 hours a week. Flexible hours. If I had to go out durning the day I would work an overnight doing surveillance on the employees while they worked. They never knew I was there in the office watching cameras.