close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Has anyone received an online degree?

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by ghstface38, Feb 2, 2010.

1. ghstface38

ghstface38 Five-O

So I've got approximately 48 semester hours of school. I worked full time and went to school full time. Now that I'm a Police Officer I see how important a degree is and I'm wanting to pursue finishing mine.

I feel an accredited online degree program might be a good fit for me. I'm looking for input from people who have gone through online classes/ degree programs.

Thanks guys!

2. matt86

matt86 Oink Oink

I'm also interested to hear an answer... it'd be nice to do mine online since I work graveyards

3. Gangrel

Gangrel

I was just looking at American Military University online...

Says they're accredited (which you have to be careful about with online stuff)

They have some decent degrees

4. GearGuru

GearGuru

Take a look at FBI National Academy academic partners, www.fbinaa.org They have screened several universities, all online and partnered with them. Just saying they have been looked at in depth by cops. I can also say personally that Troy University in AL. has an affordable and solid school. All of the FBINAA and Troy are regionally accredited and REAL schools. Good luck on finishing your degree.

5. Hack

Hack Crazy CO Gold Member

There are a lot of public higher education institutions that have an online presence, some more than others. Distance education and such like is a good thing.

6. ghstface38

ghstface38 Five-O

Here is the problem I run into:

I worked for the Memphis PD for 3 years as a Police Service Technician. The job is a civilian, non-sworn, position in which you work traffic crashes, direct traffic and assist the dept. in any traffic related manner. While working full time the MPD pays for your college and you are required to go full time. MPD DID require 54 semester hours to be an Officer.