close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hardware Questions

Discussion in 'Food Forum' started by bigzebra, Mar 30, 2006.

1. bigzebra

bigzebra

Hello all, this is my first time posting in this forum.

I have several questions regarding pots, pans and knives.

I've been dabbling in (better, finer) cooking and have found that I need better knives than the crappy cheap ones I have. I cannot afford to purchase a whole set, so I'd like to start out with one or two good ones. What brands do you prefer? I've been looking at Henkles and Kershaw. Are these good? Also, what models should I be interest in?

Additionally, Caphalon or All-Clad? My wife and I purchased a set of non-stick Caphalon a few years ago with proceeds from our wedding. The set was pretty expensive, but well worth it as we have been VERY pleased with them so far. We also have a large Caphalon frying pan in stainless, which we have also been very pleased with. But, we are in need of some more sauce pans. Has anyone had any problems with All-Clad? They seem high quality, or should we stick with Caphalon? Or are there other brands that we should look at?

Thanks a bunch!!

2. bigzebra

bigzebra

Well duh, I just noticed and read the Sticky on the knives...

3. Str8shootr

Str8shootr

I have had good luck with Emerilware, purchased at Bed Bath and Beyond with discount coupons. I've been told it is made by Allclad. Anyone, I buy the stainless steel non stick sauce pans and am amazed how low I can turn the heat and it still simmers. The glass lids are nice too.

As for knives, it is really a personal choice. My knives are an assortment I have bought (different brands) over the years. My favorites are small knives made by Chicago Cutlery, a large Japanese cleaver (very thin blade) I bought at a restaurant supply house. I bought a cheap Kitchen Aid Santoku (sp?) which is a copy of expensive sushi knives. I like the feel of it so I might upgrade to a higher quality one in the future.