close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hardcore Mac Guys

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Toyman, Jan 2, 2007.

1. Toyman

Toyman

Hey Mac guys, I have a question for you.

I'm a Windows software developer. I'm looking at getting a high end Mac for my next primary machine. (I already have 10 pc's and an intel iMac). I'll be primarily running XP in Parallels as the primary OS. (I'm already using Parallels on my Mac).

Does anyone know if there are any major drawbacks to getting the xServe has opposed to a MacPro? I'm looking at the xServe because I have a rack system. It will need to run 2 monitors, one being a 30".

2. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

I'm not certain the Xeon based Macs can run Windows in Parallels the same as on the Core Duo and Core 2 Duo based macs.If Xserve includes the OSX server OS it's very expensive and while OSX is great desktop OS it's a terrible server OS.The kernel just isn't meant for it.About the only ones using it are graphics companies with a lot of Macs.I think there is server upgrade for the desktop Macs with OSX but I don't know if standard OSX will run on the Mac servers.Also I've noticed the different Itel Macs have different OSX DVD's for the different hardware.The Intel I Macs are generally running Intel notebook hardware.

3. Deanster

Deanster Cheese? CLM Millennium Member

There's only one drawback, but it's a big one - Xserves are truly LOUD - like jet engine loud. Part of the price of cramming that much performance into the 1U form factor is that that there are lots of fans, and they run hard.

I would not, could not, share office space with an Xserve.

I've got an Xserve as an office server, and while it's been an oustanding machine, highly versatile, and I LOVE the drive tray setup, the noise is a significant problem - it's the loudest thing in our office, other than the dot-matrix printer, when it's running.