close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Handcuffs

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Dalton Wayne, Oct 20, 2011.

1. Dalton Wayne

Dalton Wayne Epic mustache Millennium Member

Does store security carry handcuffs to detain shoplifters?

2. AK_Stick

AK_Stick AAAMAD

Is that even legal?

I'm no expert, but I certainly wouldn't allow joe snuffy wal-mart security to cuff me.

I've seen mall security, and some other ones with cuffs, but I've never seen someone cuffed by them. I think they're more a show of force than a real use item.

3. Folsom_Prison

Folsom_Prison Brew Crew

My ex worked basement security at her moms house. There were a few times I tried to get away with a beer from the fridge down there. Twice I was detained in furry covered cuffs. :whistling:

:tongueout:

Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
  4. Jade Falcon

Jade Falcon WTF EREN?!

I've personally seen Nordstrom's Loss Prevention Officers arrest people with cuffs more than once, so I'm going to say yes, they do.

5. Aux Bear

Aux Bear

In IL, if not a sworn peace officer, it's unlawful restraint. Use of excessive force. A store local to me is right now fighting a suit over that. The store and the security guard are both being sued. They can detain you, but not phsically restrain you. Intimidation works best. It's a tough spot for the security people. If in doubt let them go, get the security tapes, notify the cops and let them deal with it. The suit, legal fees and settlement, potentially will cost more than the value of whatever could have been/was stolen. If they come back, call the cops and get a trespass against them. Tough but IL frowns on just anyone handcuffing folks. I don't know about other states.

6. Geko45

Geko45 Smartass Pilot CLM