Guidance Needed - My First EDC Pistol

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by JustinB_ZA, Mar 22, 2020.

1. JustinB_ZA

JustinB_ZA

Hi All

Let me preface this thread by saying I fully understand that a lot of the answers to this are based on personal preference and your ability to accurately shoot the specific firearm.

With that said I pose the following question: I am new to the EDC world and am looking at obtaining my first EDC pistol, after extensive research and a bit of range time I have narrowed my choices down to the Glock 19 (Gen 4 or Gen 5) and the Glock 43X. I am a relatively skinny guy (5'9" and Size 30 Waist) and would be looking at carrying AIWB (with spare magazine) as this seems to protrude less than 4 O'clock IWB on me.

I have had the opportunity to "test fit" a Glock 19 with a AIWB holster and I am able to conceal it however it is highly dependent on what T-shirt I wear. I have not "test fitted" the Glock 43X but I am assuming it will be more concealable*

I am a bit weary of the slightly reduced magazine capacity of the 43X but it does not make or break the deal for me.

I intend on carrying 24/7 and thus concealability will play a huge role in allowing me to do so. So with all that said I would like to know your opinions on the matter. Will the 4mm (0.16") difference of the 43X make a big enough difference to warrant the reduced magazine capacity or should I rather stick with the ubiquitous Glock 19 and if so which generation?

Have any of you switched from a 19 to 43X for your carry gun and if so what have you noticed?

* I know concealability depends more on the grip length than the thickness but I am not a fan of shooting short grip guns such as the Glock 26 or Sig P365.

Note: I have shot both the Glock 19 and the 43X and shot both more or less the same. 43X slightly more left than the 19 - but I believe this is just due to lack of range time with the 43x

2. cadillacguns

cadillacguns Millennium Member