GSSF Questions

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by Glocker45, Sep 11, 2007.

1. Glocker45

Glocker45

I am thinking about attending the GSSF match this weekend in Brighton Michigan, but I have a few questions. I have never shot in a match before and am a little worried about my skill level. While not new to handguns, I usually shoot jugs and am not in the Rob Leatham league if you know what I mean.

Secondly, what equipment is needed for a match? I have a belt holster, plenty of ammo, and a few extra mags for my 19. I have read over the rules and see nothing about mag holders and whatnot. Is it anything like IDPA where you need x amount of mags and specific holsters/mag holders? It looks like most of the stages have multiple strings.

Basically I am totally new to the match scene and would like to try it out. Any suggestions or words of advise?

2. shadow_dog

shadow_dog Hilljack

No need for a holster or mag holders. A range bag/case is all you need. As far as mags, 4 total will be enough. That is what you will need for the plates. The other 2 stages only require 3 mags. Bring about 150 rds of ammo. You can reload the mags at the mag loading area between the stages.

Good luck, don't worry about your time. Enjoy the experience the first time out.

Wish I could go. I am scheduled to work and can't get off. P's me off, Brighton was a match I was looking forward to. Oh well, I am going to be at Conyers for sure.

3. lethal tupperwa

lethal tupperwa

You have what you need.

Put it in a bag if you want to.

There are no mag changes in the middle of a string, no drawing, no running from target to target.

Tell the RO (range officer, one of the guys in the yellow shirts that say range officer ) that you are new.

You can watch the safety video on line or when you get there.

Have ear and eye protection, sign the release.

Watch for a while at each stage until you get the idea, ask questions.