close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

GSSF preparation?

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by markofva, Oct 4, 2011.

1. markofva

markofva

What are some things a beginner can do in preparation for a GSSF match?<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>

2. mike g35

mike g35

Practice your shooting and ask other more experienced shooters questions about things you don't understand. Also read the rules over and over until you know them front to back. Remember also that you are posting this on the absolute best place on the web to get information on the GSSF from other shooters. There is a wealth of information here if you know where to look and/or who to ask.
    (I am not the guy to ask by the way, I am still learning also)

3. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

1. Get some NRA-D1 targets from Target Barn or Speedwell. They come in paper, heavy paper and cardboard. I use cardboard with appropriate pasters to cover the holes.

2. Get a timer. I use a Pocket Pro I.

3. Study the three primary courses of fire for GSSF and try to simulate them. 8In paper plates will do for The Plates.

4. Practice 1 shot at 10 yards from the low/ready position. Work with a timer to develop your speed. The first shot is very important, and the sooner you can get on target and fire accurately, the better you will do.

5. Practice controlled pairs at 5, 10, 15, 20 & 25 yards, keeping all shots in an 8in circle.

6. Practice engaging all targets in a smooth left to right or right to left sequence, shooting each target as they appear in your sight line. The 5TG, left to right, normally would be 5, 15, 25, 20 & 10 yard targets.

7. Shoot an indoor match to practice shooting under pressure. The upcoming GSSF indoor series in Roanoke cost just $15.00 and requires 50 rounds of ammo.

4. PM720

PM720