close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Grains, FPS, Energy...?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by oISHUTupNrocKIo, Feb 1, 2010.

1. oISHUTupNrocKIo

oISHUTupNrocKIo Glock Lover

Sorry if this was asked before guys, but I'm so confused. I seen cartridges with less grains have more FPS and higher engery. i.e. a 180 Gr 10mm Buffalo Bore has around 782 LBS/FT and 1350 FPS, but a 200 Gr cartridge has 639 LBS/FT and 1200 FPS... if someone dosn't mind, can you explain what grains and all this technical stuff means? I've been shooting for 6 years and never really paid attention and would like to reload one day. Thanks...​

2. fredj338

fredj338

Grains is a measure of wt. There are 7000gr in a pound. In factory ammo, it refers to the bullets weight. The heavier the bullet the lower the powder charge & the lower the vel. Foot#s of energy will increase faster w/ the increase of vel than if you increase bullet wt. What does it all mean to the plinker or target shooter, not much. It's only mildly relavent to the defensive shooter too. The higher the vel the more likely it is a JHP will expand. The heavier the bulelt, the deeper it will suually penetrate.

3. oISHUTupNrocKIo

oISHUTupNrocKIo Glock Lover

Thank you very much... I get it now... the bullet is all the grain talk. after understanding that, it all makes sense! Thank you so much!

4. Zombie Steve

Zombie Steve Decap Pin Killa

Just an FYI - You weigh powder charges in grains as well, but it doesn't sound like you're there yet...

Hope to see you back here when you've done some reloading homework and you're shooting your own loads!

5. dudel

dudel

Don't think you do yet. Grains are a unit of weight. Projectiles are measured in grains as is the amount of powder in the round.

When you buy commercial ammo, the grains refers to the weight of the projectile (they don't tell you how much powder is in the case - ie how many grains of which powder).