close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Good Music Download Paysites?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by duncan, Mar 15, 2006.

1. duncan

duncan Lifetime Member Millennium Member

I'm new to music downloads from pay sites and never intend to use an iPod.

I know some people are big iTunes fans but I've owned enough Apple products to tell you rechargeable batteries are just unethical in those devices!

Inexpensive mp3 players with upgradable memory suit my needs.

My wife is bugging me about Yahoo Music for downloads.

I want to just subscribe and download and slap right onto some players and burn a CD here and there.

Used MediaMonkey and it was nice.

don't want to have to worry too much about converting files - read enough to stay away from wma files too.

Any tips or sites for a newbie?

2. Rammstein

Rammstein Libertarian

Yes, I recommend a site called allofmp3.com

They are a Russian based site that only charges to the bandwidth used to download a song. Since they are based in Russia they are free to charge they price they want on goods without RIAA intervention.

A whole CD at 128KBpS will run you about one dollar.

A co-worker has been using it for nearly three and a half years now and I have been using it for about six months. Great service and cheap too. If you do get it don't use the site to buy songs; as it is too time consuming(one song at a time). Get the program they offer allofmp3 explorer.

3. duncan

So are those all mp3s?

Recent music releases?

Not looking old stuff.

LMK

4. Furant

Furant Millennium Member

I agree with allofmp3. The great thing about this site is that you can specify the compression method and quality. Since you pay per MB, it behooves you to choose one of the better CODECs. Personally, I use OGGs encoded at Q6.

It's quite a diverse selection of music. Just give it a look. I know they ask for payment up front, but I'm on my 3rd replenishment of funds up there and haven't had any problems.