Good bye to the .380 ACP

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by Line Rider, Apr 2, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Line Rider

Line Rider

I'm a full time police officer. The following is a true story. I have shortened this to only the important details.

Serveral months back, while working night shift, I was checking out a suspicious vehicle that was pulled off on a deadend road. The driver of the vehicle was male about 6'01", 250 lbs. and built like a lineback. He was also intoxication. He was out of the vehicle taking a pee on the side of the road. I told him to zip it up and come talk with me at that point the fight was on. My partner and I fought with him for about 5 to 10 and finally arrested him.

Once we arrived at the station we had to fight this guy again. Finally, he decide he had had enought, he tell us that he was shot 2 months ago with a .380 in the chest. We're thinking "yeah right". My partner transported our arrestee to the county jail. When he get back he tells me that the guy really was shot. He had a silver dollar size hole in the front of his chest and a lump on back where the bullet had stopped under a large muscle.

Later in the week I was able to contact the investigator from the department that worked the shooting. Seems our guy was drunk while arguing with his girl friend. During the argument he put a .380 to his own chest and pulled the trigger. Not the smartest thing to do. After the shooting he walked on to the ambulance.

At the time I had two .380's a SIG 230 and a Kel-Tec. I've traded my P-230 and two other guns for a Colt Commander. But, I still have the Kel-Tec. The Kel-Tec doesn't get out of the safe too often. It's been replaced with a SW 642.

2. Dexters

Dexters

Did the guy go down or did he just stand there?

Was the guy was hyped up on something when he shot himself?

Last edited: Apr 2, 2012

3. Cole125

Cole125 Silver Member