Going to teach my girlfrend to drive stick - tips?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by mr00jimbo, Feb 18, 2013.

1. mr00jimbo

mr00jimbo

I've been driving stick for 10 years. Downshifting, rev matching, friction point, hill starts, etc. are easy for me.

But I am teaching somebody who's new to them. I tried to teach her before and she was good to start but stalled it. I was a ****ty teacher, i kept grinding my teeth and going "GIVE IT GAS!!!!! No...not THAT much!"

I think the problem is my girlfriend drives a 4x4 truck so her gas pedal is a lot heavier and stiffer, so when she gets in my car, the pedal is light and she revs it to like 5 grand when i tell her, "a little gas" and when i say less, stalls it.

I am going to work with her on the friction point and gear positioning (which isn't hard, IMO).

Any tips?

2. WmHBonney

WmHBonney

Find a large, empty parking lot.

3. Kevinr20

Kevinr20

The way i teach people is have them slowly release the clutch until it starts to grab then push it back in. Do it a bunch of times to get a feel of when the clutch engages. Then work in giving it gas when the clutch engages. Might be slightly hard on your clutch but a good way to start.

Sent from my DROID RAZR

4. Peace Warrior

Peace Warrior Am Yisrael Chai CLM

It's been a fews years, but I would generally idle up the engine. Nothing drastic mind you, just a few hundred rpms. Then as training progressed (usually no more then the second or third day), I would put it back to normal. I never "passed" a student until they could release the clutch and get the vehicle going without any accelerator at all. (I knew they'd NEVER have to do this in a real world scenario, but it sure as all get out made a difference in their confidence.)