Glock wear & tear

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by nhglocker, Dec 16, 2003.

1. nhglocker

nhglocker

I'm relatively new to glocks and firearms in general so please forgive my newbieness. I purchased a G17 new and have fired between 350-400 rounds through it so far. This last time I took advantage of the new snowfall to ski out to my favorite practice field and during the course of my practice I clumsily fell and in putting my hand out gave the glock a dose of snow.

I was careful to field strip and clean out the snow and figuring there was no harm done finished firing another 50 or so rounds. Upon returning home I made sure to do a thorough cleaning and noticed what looks like some wear that I never saw before on the breech end of the barrel and in the slide.

I have attached a photo (a little blurry) can anyone tell me if I should be concerned? Thanks all.

2. nhglocker

nhglocker

Here is another photo

3. striderglock

striderglock HVACR

What's the second photo of?

4. nhglocker

nhglocker

The second photo shows what looks like wear in the form of spots at the breech end of the barrel where the shell is ejected.

5. Wicked96SS

Wicked96SS Typical Gun Nut Millennium Member

It's hard to tell with the pictures, but I didn't notice any unusual wear in the first one, although it was very hard to see...

The second one looks like it might be scuffed a little bit... but nothing too out of wack. Looking at my G30 right now, I don't have any wear like that there, so you MIGHT have scratched it or something when you fell.

If the gun is firing fine and things are working well, I would guess that there is nothing wrong with it. If you have any questions, I would suggest going to a local gun shop or armorer (Glock Armorer would be nice) and show them.

My guess is nothing is wrong... but I am neither an Armorer or a Glock Armorer!!

6. Lashlarue

Lashlarue