close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock vs 1911 for competition question

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by jm_usmc, Mar 18, 2004.

1. jm_usmc

jm_usmc Two eagles

I'm new to centerfire gun competition and I have a pretty basic question. I have a g23 and went to shoot my first match Monday (and indoor league match). All the guns at the match except for two, mine and jls288gto, were 1911's of some type. My question is can a Glock be competitive against 1911's? Are the 1911's inherently more accurate than a Glock?

I own a Combat Commander but made the decision to shoot competitions with my Glock since that will be my personal defense gun. Should I just expect to have a handicap right off the bat? Any thoughts or experiences would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. G34MAN

G34MAN

What are you shooting, IPSC/USPSA or IDPA? If you are shooting IPSC/USPSA, just shoot production class. You won't be too handicapped with the right loads. Up until last year, I shot Limited class w/a custom SV .40. Now I shoot a G34 in production. I like to compete with the Limited and Open class guys I shoot with because it adds that much more pressure. If I can shoot a stage w/in 2 or 3 seconds of an Open guy shootin' a .38 stupid and be relatively close in points I'm happy. I really like givin' em crap when I beat 'em on a stage.

I guess to answer your question - No, I don't think your G23 is going to be competitive with a 1911 Limited gun. If you were shooting a G35 (or even a 22), I'd say yes and maybe. A 23 - No.

Just remember, if you are thinking scoreboard, compete in Production class. It is a much more even playing field (as far as equipment goes).

Here's a plan. Go buy a G35. Set it up just like your 23 (if you have changed anything on your 23). Shoot the 35 in matches and carry the 23. It's a win-win situation. You will do better at matches (probably) and you get to buy another Glock:cool:.