glock magazine shoe removal--need a suggestion or two

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by mikemayberry, May 26, 2007.

1. mikemayberry

mikemayberry

I am trying to remove the shoe so I can change to add a Pearce extender and not having much luck yet in getting the original to release. This is my first time and I suspect there is some little trick to this to make it easier without breaking something.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks!

Mike

2. Glockdude1

Glockdude1 Federal Member CLM

Using a Glock take down tool,(or a straight punch) just insert it into the hole about a 1/4". Keep you left thumb on the bottom of the mag plate, now just slide the bottom of the mag off, using the punch as a mini pry bar.

It is much easier to do it than tell someone how to do it. The mag will not be damaged in any way.

:thumbsup:

3. mikemayberry

mikemayberry

I have been doing as you suggested but it seems to be hung up and not sliding. Thought maybe there was another trick of some sort.

4. Glockdude1

Glockdude1 Federal Member CLM

Try a little more leverage. The main resistance is from the 2 "teeth" on the sides of the mag. Once you get the base plate past those, just keep your thumb on the plate, to keep the spring from flying across the room.

:supergrin:

5. scott.poole

scott.poole

The last time I took my mags apart, I used a pair of step-over pliars (they are Vise-grips that look like pincers) to compress the middle of the magazine tube right at the floor-plate. This disengaged the tabs that hold the floor on so that that it will slide right off.

6. GooberPP

GooberPP