close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock frame mods IDPA legal?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by J.P., Feb 8, 2005.

  1. J.P.

    J.P. Intergalactic

    Messages:
    4,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Rocklahoma
  2. EX CATM

    EX CATM

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Location:
    Corinth, MS
    The way I read it you can for ESP just not for SSP.
     

  3. J.P.

    J.P. Intergalactic

    Messages:
    4,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Rocklahoma
    That's what I *think* I read too.
    anyone else?
     
  4. MarkP

    MarkP

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Location:
    land of the free
    Any modification to a (SSP) frame either by dremel or other means would put it into ESP division.

    Good news is you can add a magwell and steel guide rod , as long as the gun "makes weight" and still fits in the box with a mag inserted.

    Mark
     
  5. J.P.

    J.P. Intergalactic

    Messages:
    4,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Rocklahoma
    That means I will still make sharpshooter in ESP.
    I was concerned that the modifications would DQ me altogether.
    I'm shooting right on the class line so I guess now I can set my G19s up like I want. ;e ;a

    I've only shot one qualifier.
    I qualified SSP (SS)
    When I start the next match,can I shoot in ESP as a SS with my modified Glock?

    **I joined IDPA at the last match (on site membership) and haven't recieved any info yet**
     
  6. MarkP

    MarkP

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Location:
    land of the free

    Just want to be sure ...

    did you use a modified gun by mistake in the classifier for SSP?
    Then use the same score for ESP.
     
  7. murph2127

    murph2127

    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    From the new rulebook (and old one too)

    "A competitor may compete in club matches in a division he does not have a classification in, provided he competes in the highest classification he presently holds" pp72

    So if SS is your highest classification, you will compete in ESP as a SS until you shoot the classifier. Note the club matches part though.

    Ted
     
  8. J.P.

    J.P. Intergalactic

    Messages:
    4,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Location:
    Rocklahoma
    Thanks for the clarifications.