close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock for GSSF, IDPA, IPSC

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by PlasticGuy, Jan 30, 2006.

1. PlasticGuy

PlasticGuy

I'm a firearms instructor and a pretty decent shooter, but know virtually nothing about competition. I'd really like to get into something like IDPA, GSSF, or IPSC. I would really like to keep it simple, so the competition benefits me in the self defense/security instruction that I do. From what I've read, it looks like "production" class or whatever each type of competition calls it would be a good fit for me. I know a lot about all common combat handguns, so "start with a stock G-17 and see how it works" isn't the answer I'm looking for. Tell me what the end product looks like so I can just start there.

The Glock seems to be a good fit for this type of competition. I really like the 9mm, and would really like to stick with it. So what gun to I need, and what do I need to do to it to be competitive in the basic (in terms of equipment) levels of these competitions? I'd really like to use one gun for everything (including CCW), even if it means the loss of a gizmo that would be allowed in a different type of competition. I think it would pay off in familiarity with the weapon, and even if it didn't it would be more useful to me in drilling for defensive shooting. I don't expect to win, and don't really care much about scores as long as I don't look like a fool. I just want an excuse to get in some really good practice under pressure.

Thanks for the help.

2. PlasticGuy

PlasticGuy

It looks like I would be on the right track with a Glock 17, good sights, and a GSSF trigger job by CGR. Does that sound about right to you guys?

3. cnemikeman

cnemikeman

All things being equal, go with the G34. It is 9mm, will allow you to shoot IDPA as SSP, and USPSA as Production. Dump the Glock sights are get either a Dawson combo, or some Heinies.