Glock Talk banner

Glock fanboy wants to be open minded and purchase a 1911

3143 Views 44 Replies 27 Participants Last post by  tattooo
I'm new to 1911's, and spent way to much on Glocks, S&W's and so on. So looking for a quality 1911 that doesn't cost a arm and leg! I think I settled on Springfield Amory. My question is ( I'm a leftie ) either I get an ambie safety or is it possible to buy parts to switch side of safety. And, if so, how difficult is it to do yourself? If I have to buy parts and pay gunsmiths' fees...well, I may as well buy a already ambidextrous pistol. Though I don't like having a safety lever on my exposed side to "accidentally" get caught on something.
Thanks for any advice.
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Registered
526 Posts
I'm new to 1911's, and spent way to much on Glocks, S&W's and so on. So looking for a quality 1911 that doesn't cost a arm and leg! I think I settled on Springfield Amory. My question is ( I'm a leftie ) either I get an ambie safety or is it possible to buy parts to switch side of safety. And, if so, how difficult is it to do yourself? If I have to buy parts and pay gunsmiths' fees...well, I may as well buy a already ambidextrous pistol. Though I don't like having a safety lever on my exposed side to "accidentally" get caught on something.
Thanks for any advice.
I'm a lefty that bought a Springfield Range Officer Compact. Love the pistol. There are several different styles of ambi safeties and I had a gunsmith fit one I'd picked out. It's not a drop in part and I didn't feel comfortable trying to fit it. You can't switch the side of the safety that I'm aware of.

· Registered
9,563 Posts
Not a lefty, but I have carried my Springfield lightweight Loaded champion which has the ambi safety with no issue. I'm pretty sure that most thumb safeties are drop in, meaning no gunsmithing should be required. If I am mistaken someone please correct me.

· Registered
9,563 Posts