close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock .40 magazines not working for 357 SIG conversion

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by ejconnors, Apr 8, 2003.

Tags:
  1. ejconnors

ejconnors

I would appreciate some help with this problem. I have a Glock 23 and bought a Federal Arms 357 SIG barrel for it. I
    got out to the range and found the darned thing jams almost every shot. I studied the problem and found that the nose
    of the 357's come up sluggishly and get jammed against the front of the magazine...the barrel has nothing to do with the
    problem. I can take the magazines, load them and just try to thumb strip them and the nose of the bullet hits against
    the inside-front of the magazine. I tried this with both Sellier & Belloit and Speer Lawman 357 SIG ammo, in 2 Glock
    ..40 and 3 different Scherer magazines.....they ALL do it!! The 357 SIG rounds are exactly the same case diameter (before the neck) and are the same length as .40 S&W rounds. I had read that the barrel change was all that was
    necessary. This gun has never misfed 1 .40 S&W round in more than 2000 rounds. I can't see why the heck the necked
    cartridge would create this problem but it does. All of the springs in my mags are good and they are clean. I had to
    lift some of the bullet noses up with my thumbnail just to strip the rounds from the mags at the kitchen table, it's the
    damndest thing. I even cut about 1/16" off of the front of a Scherer mag to see if that would help but the rounds get
    where they are almost horizontal with the ground, laying flat in the magazine, even pushing on the rim with a fingernail
    doesn't bring the nose up. Any help would be appreciated. I don't mind buying 10 round factory G-32 mags, but would
    like to use what I have. Am I they only person this has happened to? I can't be!

Thanks in advance,

Ed Connors

2. noway

noway