close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock 33 or 39?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by sgt93, Jan 21, 2006.

1. sgt93

sgt93

I am a new Officer in central Illinois and I would like some input on what to carry as a backup. My main is a Glock 21 which I love. I was considering a glock 33 because of velocity and mag cap. But now the 39 is out in 45 GAP. The 39 holds less ammo which isn't that much of a big deal, but it also doesn't have the velocity that the 33 has. Am I right? Any suggestions would be grat. Thanks -Steve

2. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

Yhe G39 has slightly less velocity than your G21. The G33 has the highest velocity of the subcompacts, if you really need velocity. I believe in the "bigger holes cause bigger leaks" theory.

3. sgt93

sgt93

So what you are saying is that you reccomend the Glock 39 over the 33? Even though the 33 holds 3 or 4 more rounds? Size over speed! -Steve

4. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

Yes, and the G39 is more controlable than the G33.:)

However, since you already carry a .45ACP, the Glock G30 might serve you better since it would share the same ammo and can use your G21 magazines. I carried a G30 concealed for 8 years before switching to the G38. Holster choice was a Blade-Tech IWB, FBI cant with straps.

5. esq-jim

esq-jim

May not be quite that simple an equation. The 357sig in a G 33 has MV's similar to 9mm 127+P+ winchester ammo in a full size 9mm. Certainly very capable weapon and no complaints here about it. The 45GAP does bring a bringer hole and deeper penetration . And, after all, even if 357's may expand 45's don't shrink. While there are likely no bad choices her, in fact 2 very good choices I prefer a bigger, heavier round for ist ability to drive through bone, and go deep !
    I also find the G39 easier to control the the G33. The blast and recoil of the 357sig reminds me of the 357mag !
    Jim

6. Sgt Glockman