close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock 30 vs Glock 36 recoil

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by Urg8rb8, Feb 16, 2017.

1. Urg8rb8

Urg8rb8

I went to the range today intending to rent a Glock 30 because i'm considering it for purchase as a CCW. Unfortunately they didn't have the 30, but, they had a 36 instead so I rented it. After firing a few rounds of it, I noticed that the recoil was a bit punchy. I am wondering what the difference in recoil is between them. I'm guessing the 30 should have less recoil because it has more weight. But how much less? Should I even bother trying to rent a Glock 30 if i've already test fired the 36? My plan is, if I thought the Glock 30 was too punchy, then I was going to just get the Glock 19.

I'm new to the gun world but I am learning a lot! Your help would be greatly helpful and appreciated!

2. OBG17

OBG17

You posted this also in the General Glocking Forum.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2017

3. FLIPPER 348

FLIPPER 348 Bigfoot enthusiast enthusiast

So what?

4. Urg8rb8

Urg8rb8

Yeah I posted here first by accident then realized I should have posted it the other forum.

5. Planetcat

Planetcat

Ive shot both. I would say the g36 has more recoil. My problem with the g36 was that my largish hands had a hard time holding onto it confidently. The g30 or g30s is heavier and has a larger grip, which i found to be a smoother shooter.

6. Baba Louie

Baba Louie

To me, it's not so much the weight/mass but grip width that "feels" more focused. The 21 and 30 have a nice push with some "flex" and more width to spread the love, and can be shot for longer range sessions. The 36, not so much pleasure in longish range sessions, but easier to carry and conceal (altho I do not).

Same difference between my 17 and my son's 43. One I could shoot all day figuratively speaking, the other, not as much fun... and it's only a wee little 9mm. :supergrin: