close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock 30 or 36?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Shotojon, Feb 7, 2004.

1. Shotojon

Shotojon

I'm a cop, who while on-duty carries a G19 and G26 as backup. (No choice in service weapon.) I own a Colt 1911, and because I've been shooting my Glocks for so long, when I find myself at the range with my 1911, I end up with all sorts of problems because I expect ALL handguns to function and perform like my Glocks. Anyway, I love my Glocks and I love the .45 round (I'm a big fan of the 'big hole' theory), and have been considering getting a Glock in .45, so...

At my local gun store, where a friend works, there is a barely used G30 (still has original copper lube in the slide), that he said I could have for $400, (or $475 new, law enforcement price) OR get a G36 for about $475 (L.E. price).

Besides the extra rounds, which would you choose, and why? I'm hearing about problems with the G36.

2. Harlequin

Harlequin I need a weapon

Around these parts, G30=best Glock made. Accurate, reliable, easy to find parts for. Four more shots with only a tiny increase in width. And you're practically stealing it at $400.

3. Eins36

Eins36 World Citizen

This may be an interesting thread for you about how good is the G36.

I'm now very happy with my G36 after some teething problems--but they were more of general teething problems (I was totally new to guns).

As for the width advantage, check out my bottom signature ;f

4. Gunboat1

Gunboat1 A.F.A.M.

$400.00?! Don't walk, run and grab that 30 today! That's a very good price for the best Glock made. If you plan to shoot it at all (rather than just carry it a lot) and if you have normal to large hands, you will like it. If convenience and comfort are your prime considerations, or if you have very small hands, you might (and I stress "might") like the 36 better. It's your money, but for me, you can't go wrong with the 30. :)

5. CCV

CCV Millennium Member