Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to Glocks so I apologize if my terms aren't correct. I went shooting with my brother-in-law and when he was shooting my gen3 23 he had a couple malfunctions. I was unable to replicate the issue myself but he did show me what was happening. Basically it would fire a round, eject but not reset. By that I mean the slide would not go forward all the way. He would give the back of the slide a little tap and then it would reset and fire again. This happened 2 to 3 times. I field stripped it and didn't see any issues. When I put it back together I fired a couple mags through it with no problems. I took it home and cleaned and lubed. Hoping to go out this week and put some more rounds through it to make sure it's good. Any thoughts on what could have caused this? The gun is about 8 years old but it only has a couple thousand rounds through it. I clean and lube Everytime I shoot. Thanks guys.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
707 Posts
That could happen if the slide stop lever is not properly placed but if it’s not happening when you shoot that’s not the issue in this case.

As said, most likely he’s pushing the lever up because of his grip.

Basically if it’s not returning to battery... the lever is pushing up for whatever reason.

Reactions: pgg00

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That was my first thought too but I didn't want to be a dick and tell him he's shooting wrong. Thanks guys. I'm going to take it out this week and put some rounds through it just to be certain.

·
Registered
18,793 Posts
I agree that it could be a "riding the slide" issue. If not being "ridden" the slide should return to battery on its own. A weak RSA can cause what you are seeing. Ammo can also be a culprit.

You can check the RSA, see YouTube for a demo and if it persists, with the RSA and "riding the slide" eliminated, try different ammo.