Glock 21 FAIL TO FIRE

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by lietzey1, Jan 30, 2010.

1. lietzey1

lietzey1

Im a range instructor and a buddy on my shift has a G21. He has experienced several "light primer strikes" recently and has lost confidence in the 21. I fired the weapon today and experienced two fail to fire in a row. When looking at the brass it seems as the firing pin struck the primer off center. We use WinClean ammo. He also changed the stock firing pin to a titanium aftermarket along with a stainless guide rod, etc. Firing pin? Ammo? other aftermarket accessories? I have heard of recent problems with the 21. Any advice on how to fix. He also said he experienced the same with stock accessories...

2. Chronos

Chronos

A few years ago, Glock changed the trigger bar from 4256 to 4256-1 for this reason -- light primer strikes. I initially had an occational light strike on my G20 (uses the same part) purchased in '05. I switched to the -1 trigger bar and have not had a light strike since.

This may or may not be your problem (depending on the age of the Glock in question) but if it is the problem, the fix is simple.

3. MSgt Dotson

MSgt Dotson

Reinstall the stock striker as well....a ti striker hits the primers with less force.

4. B Coyote

B Coyote

WinClean ammo could be the culprit, but I'd bet it's all the aftermarket parts.

bc

5. Lockback

Lockback Polymerlicious!

Bingo.
    Why people change some of the stock parts is absolutely beyond me.
    Leave well enough alone ... and go back to the stock striker.

6. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

1. Titanium strikers are competition parts and can cause light primer strikes.

2. Glocks do not like WinClean ammo

Suggest to your buddy that he should loose confidence in the titanium firing pin and Winclean ammo instead of his Glock.

Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  7. fortyofforty

fortyofforty