close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock 17 extraction problems

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by handyandy, Apr 30, 2006.

Tags:
  1. handyandy

handyandy

I'm new to Glocks, but not to shooting, so please be patient. I recently installed a Glock "3.5#" connector into a fairly new 17 that had never given me so much as a hiccup in about 1K rounds. At the same time I also stripped and cleaned the slide. After that it felt like it was just a little harder to open than my other 17 and my 19. The difference was slight, so I figured it was just my imagination. I took it shooting and had multiple failures to extract. The spent casing would come about half way out as the slide continued back, stripping the next round and jamming it under the partially extracted round. This happened multiple times with multiple mags. The ammo was WWB 115 gr. FMJ, the same that has been through the gun flawlessy.

I took the trigger assembly back apart, everything looked good and clean. For comparison purposes I installed a Scherer 3.5# connector.

Inspection revealed no visible problems, the gun was clean and lubed with FP-10. The extractor looked fine and had full movement when pushed on. I took the slide apart and saw some very minor peening on the firing pin where it contacts the firing pin saftety plunger. There was no excessive lubrication in the firing pin/extractor area or dirt/powder residue.

I cleaned everything and put it back together. The extra resistance to the slide opening seems to be gone, but I haven't had a chance to shoot it yet.

Any ideas on where I went wrong? I want to make this my home defense pistol, but not until I am confident that I know what caused the problem.

By the way, I love Glocks now and this pistol is a tack driver with the 3.5# connector. The 19 I just bought has an awesome stock trigger, so I'll leave it alone, it too is super accurate.

Thanks, Andy

2. RandySmith

RandySmith