Glock 17: Captured vs Un-captured Recoil Guide Rod Asmbly

Discussion in 'General Competition' started by Dennis Wallace, Nov 1, 2018.

1. Dennis Wallace

Dennis Wallace

I just bought a 17 Gen4 and would like to set it up for IDPA SSP. I reload so I can load to an efficient level for IDPA SSP. I think I need to have an RSA with 13# springs. I see a lot written on captured vs. un-captured springs. I don't understand the difference as I am new to IDPA and Glock. I don't want to reassemble an RSA in the field. Just when I think I have a grasp on understanding, I read where this particular guide rod can be assembled either captured or uncaptured. I think I need some advice here.

2. 9x45

9x45 Millennium Member

Don't know where you got the idea that a 13lb spring is needed for IDPA, or what effiecient level means. Your ammo needs to meet the power floor for IDPA, which is 120 in SSP Division (bullet weight times muzzle velocity divided by 1,000). You could run an 11, 13, 15 lb spring or stay with the OEM 17lb. Aftermarket guide rods are usually captured (bolt and washer) but not always. Captured rods are just easier to take in and out. You can also run ISMI flat wound springs on the OEM guide rod.

Problem here is if you are new to both your Glock, and competition, then don't mess with anything, except sights and maybe a 3.5lb connector (which is legal for SSP). There is way, way, way more going on in the game than just gun and gear. Get a good holster (not an Uncle Mikes gun bag) like a CompTac or Blade Tech, a good belt like a Wilderness Tactical Instructors (not a wally world belt) 2 good single mag pouches (BladeTech/CompTac), and electric ears, Peltor Tac 6's. Make sure you have your fundamentals down: stance, grip, sight picture and trigger control. Find your nearest club and get at least a dozen matches in before changing anything.

slamdunc and Dennis Wallace like this.

3. 9x45

9x45 Millennium Member