close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Glock 17, 19 or 34 for IDPA

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by mollow, Mar 30, 2006.

Tags:
  1. mollow

mollow

I've been shooting a Walther P99 QA for the last 6 months. Yesterday I borrowed someone's Glock 19 and was amazed at my ability (or the Glock's) to come right back on target effortlessly. Will I be sacrificing the ability to do this fast if I decide to buy the 17 or even 34? I know the trigger on the 34 is lighter, but assuming eveything else is the same, is it harder to get back your sight picture with a greater distance between sights? I shoot IDPA, so accuracy is important, but not dead-on accuracy.

2. Jim Watson

Jim Watson

There are darn few G19s used by competitive IDPA shooters, most you see are being shot by people exercising their carry guns. A short sight radius has got more disadvantages than a smidgen faster APPARENT return to target. It just looks quick because it is coarse.
    Technique and practice are the keys. Most serious IDPA Glockers use G34s, some G17s. (Not counting the .40 shooters who consider that a light loaded .40 has less disturbing recoil than a 9mm.)

3. mollow

mollow

Hey Jim,

Good to hear from you again and thanks for the response.

Mike

4. DanV1317

DanV1317 GlockMeBeutiful

If you're going to be using it just for IDPA, then hell, get the g34. I am in the process of purchasing one myself. i got a g17 as my first gun, shot that for a year in IDPA and did fairly well. I think got a g19 for a CCW followed by a 26 for the hell of it, and now getting a g34 that i will use just for competitions. Throw some nice sights on it and you're ready to go. Really anything to get you trigger time will help you out.

5. 2cats

2cats Millennium Member