Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Lifetime NRA member
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sending my G30 slide to Jagerwerks be milled for my vortex venom and am trying decide if I want my rear sight in front or back of the red dot.
I am leaning towards the front.
As this is my first time doing this
I thought I would seek the knowledge of the forum for advice.
What do you think?

·
Banned
547 Posts
The further your red dot sits, the better.
Moreover, you don't want to shorten your iron sights' radius.
Keep your rear iron sight at its place.

·
Lifetime NRA member
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, that makes sense. Thank you. I already have the venom, but it’s still new in a box.
I was playing with a friends 19w/trijicon last night. It was pretty sweet.
You think it’s worth the extra to return and exchange?

·
Registered
7,192 Posts
If you are running a dot, you don't need back up sights. Dots on Open Division guns have been around since the 70's. If you need to take a shot without a dot, just frame the target with the window.

·
#787 Top Gun .357sig
1,403 Posts
I like mine with the rear sight available where it belongs. In the event of having to use your weapon in a self defense situation you do not want any of your equipment to fail. That rmr has a better chance at failing than those iron sights so if I have to depend on them as back up sights so be it. I am responsible for the bullet (s) that come from my gun.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,840 Posts
Have a number of pistols with slides milled for RMRs. A couple are carry guns, most are not.