close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Getting into a First-Time Trucking Job; thoughts?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Jade Falcon, Nov 30, 2012.

1. Jade Falcon

Jade Falcon WTF EREN?!

Hi folks,

So a part of me has always wanted to be a Commercial Trucker, ever since I was little. I'm single, with no family dependent on me, so I imagine, with good hours, I could make some pretty good money.

Here's the thing: I know absolutely nothing about truck-driving, or getting a CDL. I would like to get a Class A endorsement, but again: I have no idea how to go about doing it.

In the neighboring city of Portland, Oregon (I'm a WA resident), there's quite a few schools, but is there anything that I should look out for specifically?

I am open to suggestions and comments. Remember: I'm a complete noob at this, so please use layman terms.

How does a noob like me normally go about getting hired on with a company? Should I sign up with a company first and then let them train me? Or, should I go to a Truck-Driving School and then get hired on with a company?

I don't know!

Thanks everyone!

Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  2. VC-Racing

VC-Racing General Flunky

I have 21 yrs of trucking under my belt. If I could find something else right now I would give it up . Don't get me wrong, I've had some great times on the road, but with the way things are now, the days are long gone. Trucking is a cut throat industry that looks like unicorns and rainbows on the outside , but is a cold bitter harsh ***** on the inside .
    If you go driving school route and allow a company to cover your cost , you'll be in a 2 yr contract that will make you a slave to them. If you break the contract the buyout will be 2 times the average cost.

Last edited: Nov 30, 2012

3. devildog2067

devildog2067

Let's start from the beginning: what do you consider "some pretty good money"?

4. jrd22

jrd22