Glock Talk banner
1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So what is the cure for the short throat in Gen 5 9mm.
Glock says barrel is fine, have no replacement barrels as of today.
Have 2 17-5 and 2 19x and 1 19-5.
1 each 17 and one each 19x and the 19-5 won’t come close to chambering, “plunk check” ammo the others will.
None of my Gen 3 or 4 have ever had this problem.
Before we head down any rabbit holes I have 40 years of hand loading experience.
Not happy about this and sure not happy with Glock.
I do not feel it unreasonable to expect several barrels from one manufacturer to accept the same ammo.
Especially 2 of the same model and generation.
This must be part of the marksman barrel “upgrade” which I see as just not throating to save a step.
Glock needs to worry about a lot more than the barrel for accuracy, like do something with “crush the June bug” trigger.
Have an HK that will shoot circles around any Glock, any time!
As well a shelf full of 1911s that’ll send a Glock away from any accuracy contest.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I don't have any issues.

I recall it was more pronounced with longer rounds and 147 grain ammo.

This was addressed by Glock after the early production runs.
[/ bottom line when a factory 115 JHP WITH cannelure won’t chamber without some force in one Glock but it will in all 8 others something ain’t right.
Agree they fixed later production, due to my newest 17-5 has no issues. Glock, as of yet hasn’t cured my other Gen 5s. But I ve decided to give them one more shot

·
Registered
1,803 Posts
So what is the cure for the short throat in Gen 5 9mm.
Glock says barrel is fine, have no replacement barrels as of today.
Have 2 17-5 and 2 19x and 1 19-5.
1 each 17 and one each 19x and the 19-5 won’t come close to chambering, “plunk check” ammo the others will.
None of my Gen 3 or 4 have ever had this problem.
Before we head down any rabbit holes I have 40 years of hand loading experience.