Gen 1 G17 Accidental Find

Discussion in 'Glock Collector's Club' started by Mdeng, Aug 25, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Mdeng

Mdeng

A few years ago a friend offered to sell me a gently used G17. He was selling it to fund a new race gun for USPSA/IPSC. His price was reasonable and I had the money available so I helped him out. After all the paperwork was done (Maryland sucks) I brought it home cleaned it and put it in a safe with several other Glock 17's.

As an instructor I keep a small quantity of the most popular models on hand so each student can have the same model firearm during a class. It makes things easier on me. Anyway last month I was doing inventory and noticed that this particular handgun was a little different then the rest. Noticing the different sights, grip texture and U-notched magazine. This is what lead me to this forum.

Condition:
    • Finish is 95%
    • One blemish on frame at rear near slide.
    • Barrel shows some wear on top but none at the breech block.
    • I might have the original plastic box I have to search the attic.

What I know about my Gen 1 so far.
    • The magazine is original
    • The recoil spring is original
    • The trigger bar looks like it has been replaced (silver vs original black)
    • The sights are original
    • It has matching S/N's on frame, slide and barrel
    • It has Austrian proof marks on frame, slide and barrel
    • Manufacture date: January 1987 (per the proof ATY on barrel)
    The question I have now is what to do with it?
    • Put it away and hope the value goes up? ( I have plenty of others to shoot )
    • Treat it like the dozen or so other G17's I have and use it for security guard training? ( I never know when I will need one more gun on the line )
    • Sell it to a collector now? ( I don't really need the cash for anything )
    [​IMG]

macmulisha likes this.
  2. KWalrad

KWalrad No Wire Hangers!

Option 4 - Gift it to KWalrad out of the kindness of your heart.