Gearing up for reloading rifle ammunition: Powder Measures

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by CDR_Glock, Sep 8, 2018.

1. CDR_Glock

CDR_Glock

So I have a turret press that I’ll be using for reloading my rifle.

I’m torn amongst powder measures and automatic measures...

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

I’m limited by my range distance of 250 yards.

Right now, I’m getting ready for my Suppressor to come. So I will be loading 300AAC, first. I’m shooting mainly from an AR pistol for it....

I have dies for 308, 300 AAC, 5.56 mm, 6.5 Grendel, and 7 mm-08. I’m good on my supplies for All, except 300 AAC.

Any experience or suggestions are welcome.

Thank you.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

2. FlyfishermanMike

FlyfishermanMike

I have the older Lee plastic version. I hear the newer one is better. The Lee is a great starting point but I outgrew it quickly. I have the Hornady on a progressive and it's very accurate and well made. I have a RCBS Chargemaster and it's one of the best reloading tools I've bought. I use is for pistol and rifle, working up loads and weighing top end charges. I like that I can tinker with the speed settings as different powders dispense differently. On sale price coupled with a rebate made it reasonable.

The auto dispensers are great for precision ammo and the manual throwers tend to be a tad faster for range ammo where a ±.1 variance isn't a big deal. Depends what you want and expect from your ammo and where speed and cost fall on your priority list. Like most, you'll probably end up with both types.

10or45 likes this.

3. 10or45

10or45 NRA Benefactor Life Member

I use the 050069 Lock-n-load measure for rifle with extruded powder for service rifle loads. It is very smooth if it's not shearing. I still hand weigh (trickle up) the large grained IMR 4064 for precision .308 though.

Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
    FullClip and CDR_Glock like this.
  4. Taterhead

Taterhead