Garand Experts, please help

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by iowashooter, Feb 23, 2010.

1. iowashooter

iowashooter

I am very new to the Garand game, I am getting a Winchester Garand (receiver is marked Winchester), I'm sure the gun has several different makers parts in it. I would like to get it all Winchester. How many different parts are marked by the maker on a Garand? How hard is it to get all the parts from one maker? Any additional information would be greatly appreciated

2. Jon_R

Jon_R

Almost all of the parts are marked by the manufacturer but they should probably not all be Winchester if you are trying to get it back to its original configuration. Lots of subs made parts sent them to the main manufacturers for assembly into rifles. Then most rifles where rebuilt at least once. That involves stripping down the rifle tossing worn parts and grab new ones out of the bins.

Check out the forum over at cmp

http://www.thecmp.org

Unless you got very lucky your rifle will be a mix of parts and it will take a lot of effort to find the correct parts. Keep in mind you can take that rifle and have a lot of fun shooting targets as is. :)

The big parts are the receiver, barrel, op rod, and trigger group assembly. You have a Win receiver. The barrel is marked under the rear handguard. If you pull the bolt back you can usually tell from there it should have a manufacturer code and date. Such as SA-53 That would be Springfield Armory 1953. The op rod should have a code on it to. If you pull the trigger group out it should have a part number and manufacturer code on the side. Also most everything in the trigger assembly will also have a code and such.

The you have stocks and cartouches, etc.....

Restoration is a big thing.

Last edited: Feb 23, 2010

3. Gary7

Gary7

I think everything on the Garand with the exception of the stock, springs, and the sights and maybe the gas plug will be marked by the manufacturer.

4. byf43

byf43 NRA Patron Life Member