Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I’m really new to GlockStore and guns in General. I have a G45 brand new. I’m having trouble racking the slide. I’ll rack it with no mag and it’s fine but sometimes when I rack a bullet in the chamber the slide won’t go all the way into battery and stop like 1/4 inch. I’ll push forward on it and the trigger will go forward a little and be in full battery! Thank you in advance!!
9A0EB7A9-3482-43B6-8CA1-CCFE12398720.jpeg
69A39B94-FC6E-424A-9F8F-28E540E9003F.jpeg

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
Make sure when you chamber a round you pull the slide back all the way with authority and let it go. Don’t ride it forward. It needs the energy from the spring to fully chamber the round.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That would be my guess as well. You’re just easing the slide forward. Let the recoil spring do its job
I thought that at first too. So i racked it good. I'm a 245lb weight lifter haha. It doesn't do it everytime But will still do it randomly. Not while firing so far but only when i manually rack it.

·
Registered
1,707 Posts
Another way you can do it is, remove the mag, lock the slide back, insert the mag, and release the slide with the slide stop.

That generally wont have the issue.

The way I usually rack a slide is, starting with the gun held in close to my chest at around nipple height, with my left hand (Im a righty) wrapped over the top of the slide, fingers on the right side, thumb on the left, pointing to the rear, and gripping snugly.

I push the gun forward sharply while pulling back on the slide. When the slide stops coming back, I let it go while Im still pushing forward. When its all done, the hand working the slide is flat against the front of my right shoulder, and the gun at arms length in front of me.

Its quick, positive, and done with force, and you get full retraction on the slide before it goes forward.

Reactions: QHefner

·