close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

G36 Upper on a G30/G30SF Frame - Will this work?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by DrlSgt, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. WinterWizard

    WinterWizard

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    7
    This thread hasn't come up about 100 times in the past year. Does anyone use the search function?
     
  2. Goat 36

    Goat 36

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glockerbie
    It may not be a concern for some, but I believe you cannot use the grip extensions for using the fullsize mags in the 30sf. Only with the standard 30 frames. The extension piece that slides over the fullsize mag does not match up to the bottom of the grip properly.

    If I'm wrong about that, please correct me.

    Certainly something to consider.
     

  3. Police Marksman

    Police Marksman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Texas
    I have two sources from Glock that have said the 30S will be released at Shot Show. I do not think a G30 Gen 4 frame will work with the standard 36 slide. They have different recoil springs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  4. shakazulu12

    shakazulu12

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Someone on the forum in the past week or two already posted that they are just waiting the 10 day period before they can pick theirs up.
     
  5. DrlSgt

    DrlSgt

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I would love to know where (s)he ordered it from. It's not even advertised as available on the Glock site... Nor Glockmeister.com nor Glockstore.com.

    I'd be interested :cool:
     
  6. mo.glocker

    mo.glocker

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    st.charles,mo
    i live in st.louis and last year at the nra show the kid at the glock booth had a 30 and 36 on display,i ask him if he ever mixed the 2 and he went ahead and assem.the hybrid.he told me (ya glock is actually thinking about making this)his exact words.id like to have a numbers matching hybrid,but even more id rather just buy a glock 29,w/conversion barrels you have a lot of caliber choices.
     
  7. Deployment Solu

    Deployment Solu Kydex Crafter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,038
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I have a hybrid that i have carried for about two years and put thousands of rounds through without a hiccup. It is real and it does work!!!!
     
  8. mo.glocker

    mo.glocker

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    st.charles,mo
    i have one too,but would love to have a factory numbers matching hybrid-this is my ccw-great pistol
     
  9. ghostrider88

    ghostrider88

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    NORTH CAROLINA
  10. Catswold

    Catswold God rules all!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Buds has a listing for them, last posted price $627, but no pics yet. Probably not available yet.
     
  11. Rick305

    Rick305 ra1sales.com

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't see it
     
  12. Police Marksman

    Police Marksman

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Texas
  13. Vandalozz

    Vandalozz

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Anyone know where i can buy a G36 upper? seems to be a white elephant?
     
  14. TX58

    TX58

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Goat36: I have a Glock 36/30 hybrid. The frame is a 30sf and yes, the A&E mag spacer does work on the Glock 30sf using the Glock 21 magazine. I seldom use it and carry it as my second mag, but it does work.
     
  15. jdpst20

    jdpst20

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Yeah like others have said It totally works. My friend has a 30sf and I have a 36. We did the swap and put about 100 rounds through it with no issues.

    Once I get a few other things for the G36 I want I'm going to probably buy a G30 Frame complete to I can have 2 guns when ever I want to.
     
  16. WinterWizard

    WinterWizard

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    7
    >>>>>
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  17. legalsten

    legalsten

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    34
    I bought a 36 last week and traded for my old 30 I bought new years ago. I guess I know what I will be carrying .
     
  18. intenseneal

    intenseneal

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    136
    Glock does make a stock G30 G36 hybrid. It is called the G30S it has the G30SF frame with the G36 slide. It is on the Glock website. The G30S uses a Gen 3 frame
     
  19. SCmasterblaster

    SCmasterblaster G17 carrier since 1989 Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    19,216
    Likes Received:
    993
    Location:
    Hartford, Vermont
    Why do it? What is wrong with the G30 upper?
     
  20. legalsten

    legalsten

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    34
    Because the 30 will fit in the same holster as the 36 with the slide from the 36. Will not fit as a standard 30 . I know it doesnt seem like much but the extra width matters on the holster I have . I have both so I might as well get the extra rounds.