close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

G20 for Bear

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Green Mountain Boy, Feb 12, 2012.

1. Green Mountain Boy

Green Mountain Boy

Folks,
    I am currently trying to decide between a mag revolver or a G20 as a camping and woods gun. In my section of Vermont we are beginning to have serious black bear issues. I am thinking G20 because of capacity which would be great for the more likely human predator.

Would you guys feel under gunned with a G20?

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

2. DubfromGA

DubfromGA

Were I hunting them then I'd want a .44 mag revolver.

To pack as a woods defense gun, then I'd feel fine with a G20, a spare mag both loaded with some of DoubleTaps finest Barnes loads.

3. GaryC

GaryC

I have no real world experience in this, but my reading over the years tells me that handguns for bears is a really bad idea.

Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  4. jtull7

jtull7 Pistolero CLM

5. DubfromGA

DubfromGA

Gotta love the Internet ......

6. DannyII

DannyII

Best advice I've read from the interweb bear hunters - remove the front sight. It'll make it more comfortable when the bear shoves it up your A**!

7. GaryC

GaryC

8. Butch

Butch RetiredDinosaur Millennium Member CLM

For black bears the G20 should be fine, but for grizzly's I think a long barreled magnum revolver is much better. The long barrel has to be easier to slide past yer face to get it into the bears mouth before ya fire it.....trying to get the G20's slide into his mouth with yer head would almost certainly push the slide out of battery.

:supergrin:

9. GaryC

GaryC

10. DannyII

DannyII

This has been fun... again....no, really. :faint: