G20 and G29 going to slide lock with a round in the mag

Discussion in 'The 10 Ring' started by Big Sam, Apr 7, 2012.

1. Big Sam

Big Sam

This one has me stumped. I've been shooting all manor of Glock's for 15 years without issue. 3 months ago I picked up a G20SF and a G29SF new. Great guns. But I have developed this strange problem in both guns. The gun will go to slide lock with one round still in the magazine (any of a number of mags). I can pull back on the slide to feed the round but it's at slide lock just as though the mag was empty. It happened 3 times this morning with the G29 SF. At first I thought my thumb was hitting the slide release during recoil but that is not it. If the nose of the bullet points up a little bit in the mag, it will allow the front of the mag follower to rise up enough to engage the slide stop lever .

This is with both guns, only on the last round and the guns run 100% otherwise. Both guns are 100% stock save but the G29 mags have the Pearce +0 extensions on them.

It has happened with factory and reloads. I shoot mostly reloads though.

Any ideas guys? I emailed Glock last Monday but have not heard back from them.

2. attrapereves

attrapereves

I've made a post on here before concerning two different styles of 10mm magazines. One style makes the cartridge nose up more than the other. This may be the cause of the problem.

Let me find my posting...

EDIT: https://www.glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?p=18750781

I've had two FTFs with my G29 and both were with the magazine style on the left. Coincidentally, this mag is the one that causes the bullet to feed at a higher angle.

Last edited: Apr 7, 2012

3. dpadams6

dpadams6

4. WeeWilly

WeeWilly

I have had this exact symptom when I had a broken stop lever spring. For whatever reason the last round in the magazine would cause the lever to come up and engage the slide.