G19 gen 4 purchase anxiety

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by staunen2, Mar 10, 2017.

1. staunen2

staunen2

I'm looking to buy a Glock 19 gen 4 because of the simplicity, reliability, and durability many describe here, but am concerned about ejection issues. Online discussion of the problem seems to be all over the map - it only involved earlier production and it’s been fixed, or it only effected a few pistols and was wildly over-blown (and everything in between).

I rented gen 4s last weekend at two different ranges and “brass to face” was a problem with both. Could be my form is flawed, I've been shooting for a few years, but I'm not an expert; could be the rentals weren't well maintained, too. But, could it also be that the G19 simply has design problems?

Should I look at something else, take a $500 gamble, or simply buy with confidence?

Sorry ahead of time if this is a topic that's been done to death already (feel free to direct me to other threads here). Thanks to any willing to offer advice.

2. nikolaz

nikolaz

Those range Gen4s were probably some of the earliest ones that had the problems. Whatever you buy now will be fine.

3. WVSurveyor

WVSurveyor

No problems with my MOS version.

JJ Jim McQuade likes this.
  4. ziggy2525

ziggy2525

You can still buy a Gen 3 if you're concerned about the Gen 4. They're even a little cheaper.

I have a couple year old Gen 4. I've never had BTF, but I have had a couple drop inside my shirt collar. That will get your attention.

Buckshot Barry and Maxx702 like this.
  5. JJ Jim McQuade

JJ Jim McQuade

P
    please forgive my ignorance but what is MOS

6. OBG17

OBG17