Glock 17 G17 jamming constantly

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by archieuw, Apr 1, 2004.

Tags:
  1. archieuw

archieuw

Hi all- i just purchased a used ( but in very good condition ) G17 and have fired about 400 rounds of umc 115gr and have had several jams for just about every ten rounds fired. The jams occur randomly, most being about 3 to 5 rounds into the magazine, not the first or last round out of the mag. ( i should also note that i am not filling the mags to full capacity, just 7 out of the possible ten) The jams are not stovepipes but seem to be the a feeding error, as the jammed round is always unfired, not empty brass cases as in a stovepipe. I have fired other glocks and have not had this problem, so i dont think that i am using a limp-wristed grip, but it might be possible.

My questions to you are: what mechanical issues might cause this type jamming to occur? Are there parts that i could fix easily to solve this problem or, as i am a novice, and do not have a lot of glock experience, should i take my G17 to an armomr to have him fix somthing??

Thanks in advance for your answers. Glocks are truly great guns ( im my humble opinion) and i hope i can fix this jamming problem with your help. Jason

2. Chevytuff19

Chevytuff19

You might try cleaning and lubing it if you haven't already done so.

Edit: You might also let us know how old the gun and mags are. You might new new mag springs or the feedlips might be bent.....all depending on how old the mag is.

3. WalterGA

WalterGA Millennium Member

The ammo that you're using isn't really hot. Weak ammo will exacerbate limpwristing. Try concentrating on locking your wrists and not letting your elbows work as shock absorbers. The advice to clean and lube is also good advice. Why are you downloading your mags?

4. archieuw

archieuw