Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Ba-nan-nah-nuh
3,778 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First - the DISCLAIMER::: I am NOT a doctor.

I have a lot of experience WITH doctors as having been a Biomedical Engineer (not the choo-choo train type) and have had about 20 or surgeries on just my eyes alone..... so after I tell you what I did, you can see if it would be a good idea or not for YOU. Me? I got it wired this time without going to ER............

I have had so many surgeries that I am on a first name basis with a few dozen doctors of varying specialties.

This morning I got a sliver of metal when I was drilling some holes under my log-hauling trailer. OK - if you must know - this time I wasn't wearing eye protection, but it was just gonna be a quickie, so no harm, no foul, right?

Wrong - a spiral of steel dropped onto my cheek and as I went to brush it off, a piece of it must've broken off and went into my right eye.

I've got rust-rings in my eyes from years of getting metal into them, safety glasses or not - it happened.

I got a good idea! I had just bought a small tube of Neo-magnets from Harbor Fright, and I grabbed one off the stack and just ALMOST touched it to my eye and the piece of steel jumped right out!

Again - I'm not telling you what to do. I certainly don't want to be quoted for this as a treatment. I'm just saying - it worked for me.

·
PSO Survivor. currently in NW Georgia
10,479 Posts
The older I get, the more I try to wear the gear...but we have all done s*** like that and then said what the hell?

·
NRA Patron Life Member
13,497 Posts
When I was (much!) younger, I was the guy that was "an accident, looking for a place to happen."

Fingers??? No worries. I've got 10 of 'em.
Toes??? No problem. I've got 10 of 'em.

Eyes????? I've only got 2 of 'em, and I make my living, using my eyes. Plus, since I first heard the song, "I'm a Girl Watcher" (The O'kaysions - 1968), I NEED my eyes! :)