Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Me fail English? That's unpossible
3,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow AR15 fans. I’ve got a question for you guys. I have a old Bushmaster 16” A4 with the heavy barrel. It has the front triangle sight and I planned on removing it and installing a set of MLOK free floating hand guards.

I’m just curious if the hand guards will fit on the target/heavy barrel? Anyone done this? I have the tools and knowledge how to do it, so only unknown it the fit.

Any info would be awesome!

Thanks,
w30olds

·
Premium Member
42,134 Posts
As stated above, the limitation will be the gas block size.
I really like the MLok handguards from Bravo Company

Reactions: w30olds

·
3,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The kit I’m looking at comes with a low profile gas block actually. Not sure if it will fit the thicker barrel or not

·
Good looking deplorable
7,148 Posts
The kit I’m looking at comes with a low profile gas block actually. Not sure if it will fit the thicker barrel or not
Like said above. You can chop the front gas block. I have done this on a couple of guns.

·
3,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Like said above. You can chop the front gas block. I have done this on a couple of guns.
May go that route. So your talking about the front triangle sight being the gas block right? Also what is the best way to chop it off? Thanks!

·
Anti-Federalist
21,649 Posts
I'd just use the gas block that come in the kit and save the old FSP for another build.

·
NRA Life Member
66,515 Posts
Never mind, misread.

So take your gun apart and measure to see if the gas block will fit and get one that does. It's going to have to come apart anyhow.

If the kit doesn't have the size you need, buy handguard and gas block separately.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Need to verify two things,

1. If replacing the gas block, that it is the correct size for the barrel.