close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Flashlight Recommendations

Discussion in 'Firefighter/EMS Talk' started by relichuntr, Sep 7, 2006.

1. relichuntr

relichuntr

Hey guys, I'm a professional FF in Raleigh, NC for 14 years. I'm thinking of retiring my Bright Star 4C Responder right angle light that I've carried for a while. Any recommendations on another? I'm interested in the Big Ed by Pelican but not many in my dept. carry them. They mostly carry the Survivor by Streamlight which is a good light but I wonder if the Big Ed would be brighter than the one I have now or the Survivor. Thanks for any help.:)

2. FirNaTine

FirNaTine

I use the Survivor and have been happy with it. I broke it and took it to an authorized retailer, it was sent back to me fixed. For FREE.

Most of the guys I work with that carry a light use this one. The department also puts them in out RIT Bag. As far as I know no one has had a problem with them.

3. Tvov

Tvov

The Survivor is issued by our department, works great, very tough. I've had mine returned after being buried in the remains of a structure fire, and after being dropped from the ladder truck (only about 20 feet up), works fine.

4. FlaFF

FlaFF

We refer to them as Big Deads. Constant issue with the Big Ed's. Streamlight survivor is time tested and proven. I'm planning on buying one so that I don't have to rely on the big dead.

FlaFF

5. fireguy129

fireguy129

One of our guys bought a streamlight survivor led. Pretty sharp, but he got the one that is run on AA batteries. I was looking at the led's with the rechargable battery pack for $75. It would go nice on my other gear.

6. ClydeG19

ClydeG19