First trip to range with G33 and G19 RTF2

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by fsqridah, Mar 26, 2010.

1. fsqridah

fsqridah

This is gonna sound really stupid, but I've been carrying my G33 for almost two months and until yesterday I hadn't gotten in any range time. But I've been super busy working two jobs (7 days a week, mind you), so free time's been a little short.

Anyway, I got my girlfriend a G19 RTF2 last Thursday. That thread is in the women's issues forum. So yesterday I was able to get the night off from work and we headed down to Bud's to do some shooting. I had some S&B 140gr FPs and she had some Federal AE 115gr FMJs. She doesn't have a lot of experience shooting, and so far all she has shot is a 3" 1911 .45ACP, G26, and G29. So she hasn't had the best track record regarding beginning shooters. The G19 is definitely a step in the right direction.

Her first 30 rounds at five yards were just great. Most of them were inside the 9 ring with a couple of stomach-area fliers. I'd say at least half of her shots were in the 10-ring, and several in the X. I took a few shots with it and instantly learned why the G19 is so popular. It's so soft shooting! The lightest-recoiling gun I've shot other than a Walther P22 was a G26, so the G19 was a treat. She got a little discouraged about the stomach shots and I just laughed and told her that the guy was dead a long time ago. Stomach shots hurt, too. :)