close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

First time at a competative shoot

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by seanmcp, Sep 28, 2004.

1. seanmcp

seanmcp CLM

Well, Sportshooter's Indoor Gun Range in Louisville is doing some Combat shoots now on Tuesday night with a little different run each time. I decided I'd go ahead and quit watching and actually shoot today! The format was:

http://www.gssfonline.com/course/5toglk.htm

I was all decked out in my glock-wear (Glock hat, t-shirt, sidearmor IWB, and one of my second-gen G19's) and ready to do my best to prove Glocks can do well even in the hands of a beginner :)

The G19 I was shooting had just been dropped off at the range for me today w/ night sights freshly installed on it (I've never used them before, and 3dot is a bit different than stock sights I had) and was the G19 I almost never shot (the other one has been my primary carry gun; thus, this one sacrificed up for NS first; Thanks again, wprebeck!). It has a slightly different trigger feel due to the differences in wear and tear, the serrated trigger instead of the smooth one I normally carry, AND the fact that it had just been detail stripped (again, thanks wprebeck; it's embarassing to have someone ELSE clean my gun when they're working on it), so I was basically coming into this sucker cold!

I'm not happy with my score from a purely statistical standpoint, but I didn't get smoked either :) My combined time was ~70 seconds (OUCH!) in large part due to dropping a few at 25 yards in the outer band. Now that I understand the scoring system, I'll happily take more time from now on for the 25 yard shots. I had no misses, and quite a few X's. On either side of me the scored times were ~60 and ~80, so I kind of fell in the middle.