close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

First Post

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by DeadMansLife, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    From LINUX! :)

    Now off to figure this out...
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Which Linux are you using?
     

  3. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    MCNLive.

    Interesting OS.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Nice,It's based on Mandrakelinux.It's very up to date.It's Mandrakelinux 10.1 with the 10.2 kernel.10.2 is still in beta testing.
     
  5. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Itś from the link you gave me yesterday. Thanks :)

    Anything special I need to know about being online with this?
     
  6. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Also, if I do the HD install will it let me chose where or is it going to force itself into where it wants to be?
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    The installer should have "use entire disk".Choose disk "hdb" this is your slave.Master is "hda".You need to format a Root partition and a swap partition.You can also format a Home partition.That's plenty.Check those boxes.It should be able to auto alocate but if not Root should be 5 or 6GB Can be 10 Gb if large disk.Swap should be 1Gb but can be half that.Home should be the rest.Uxse ext3 for Root and Home and Logical for Swap or "Linux Swap".
     
  8. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    If given option where to mount bootloader choose Root then you can make a floppy.If not it will overwrite the Windows Master Boot Record MBR.That will still be able to boot Windows too.