First hunting rifle...thoughts?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by 6530, Jan 14, 2003.

1. 6530

I'm new to hunting, having only gone once before, but plan to go annually beginning next season. I've been looking around for a hunting rifle and I think I've decided.

I thought I'd ask for some ideas before I purchased anything. What I envision is below - I'll probably buy over the next month or two so I have a chance to get used to the rig.

Rifle: Browning A-Bolt Hunter, 300 WSM
    Scope: Sightron SII 3.5-10x50
    Rings & mount: Talley

This will be used primarily for whitetail deer, but I would like to be able to use the same rifle for elk, antelope, etc. out west or in British Columbia in coming years.

Any thoughts would be helpful. Thanks.

edited to say: I posted before seeing this First Rifle by my question's a little different - I've identified a rig already.

2. Arbee

Arbee

Tell us more about the landscape you will be hunting whitetails in and the typical distances you will be shooting for now, rather than in the future out west.

3. 6530

The landscape ranges from clear-cuts to brushy & wooded to planted pines. Slightly hilly, but not very.

The typical distance would be up to 250 yards, 300 at the most.

4. mpol777

mpol777 Feral Member

.300 WSM will be more than enough for any whitetail, elk, black bear, etc. if you don't mind the extra recoil over non-magnum chamberings then go for it.

i personally don't like 50mm obj on hunting rifles. i find them to be too heavy and they need to be mounted too high for what i like in a rifle that i will be carrying around. i don't know anything about sightron scopes, but make sure they are good in lowlight. most of your shots will come when it's overcast and/or in dawn or dusk low light.